Forever ended Yesterday (Poem #122)

I dared to utter the words that trembled my soul,

Yet I could not comprehend the fault line crumbling below me,

Could not hear the warning cries.

No, I remained hopefully infatuated by you,

Willing to walk the edge of this quaking world 

Because stupidly I believed the words I spoke when I cried out to you,

“I want forever with you even if forever ends tomorrow”

Silly me not to notice that forever ended yesterday,

I just didn’t get the memo that we were already dead…

Leave a Reply

