I wish to be made (Poem #110)

If I could be made of anything,

I would not choose

gold or silver,

diamonds or chrome,

nor granett or steel.

For no one desires to fill every waking moment with such hard material.

Yet I would not desire

to be of feathers,

or silk,

or suede;

for those are delicate and hidden away until a truly gentle moment arrives.

I would desire to be made of something common,

yet beautiful,

while still strong enough to stand on it’s own,

and gentle enough to kiss the face of a child.

I wish to be made of the only material that holds something strong enough to wear on past the date it expires.

I wish to be made of something so unique that it could never be remade the same.

I wish to be made of the only material known to man which can hold the world in balance for another human being.

I wish to be made of flesh.

Leave a Reply

