If this poem could fix this home, I would read it everyday…(Poem #84)


My family is falling apart,

and I have to just stand back in watch,

as the lawyers scream to be heard,

and the silent agony spreads,

as I watch the world crumble under my feet,

and all you two care about is who gets what….

BUT WHO GETS ME?!?!

WHAT AM I WORTH?!?

Don’t make your divorce split me in two,

I’m not the house,

you can buy a new one of those,

I’m not a car,

you can’t buy insurance that will fix me,

I’m your child,

the one you grew up holding onto your support,

and now the ground I loved is splitting at it’s fault line,

and your daughter cries out for your lawyers to put down the pen,

and for you two to see that I can’t be in the middle of your fighting anymore,

I’m your child,

it’s time you two start acting like my parent,

and parent yourself….

Leave a Reply

