A new way of drowning (Poem #33)

I need to be honest right now,

This feeling that I am having,

I can’t even describe it…

And that is kind of scary to me,

because I am a writer,

I am the person who takes the indescribable

and finds the perfect words to say…

But somehow you have found a way to take away my voice,

to have everything blur together,

and have words not be able to come close to explaining how I feel.

love quotes photo: Life Quotes Life_Quotes_oceanquote-1.jpg

But I am still stubborn,

so that means I am going to try…

So here it goes.

I feel like I am floating,

yet I am being pulled under by the current,

and it is pulling me toward the deeper end,

and slowly taking the shores away that I have become so comfortable with,

I am drifting farther and farther away from the world I knew,

the world that defined me til now,

I am slowly drowning,

but no matter how much I hate not breathing,

it is a drowning that I almost love,

Because even though the thing I held onto to keep me “alive”

was actually slowly poisoning me,

but I was too scared to look elsewhere,

So as the water fills my lungs,

instead of gasping for air,

I am learning how to breath again.

You have opened up my eyes to my new life,

and even though the shore was my home now,

you made me into a mermaid,

and I love how the water feels between my fingers,

I love the feeling of being surrounded by feelings,

and by memories that depending on the lighting show something different.

I love the way that you lead me into a word that is deeper,

and more meaningful than I have ever seen,

because I lived on the surface and thought that the deeper I went the darker life would get,

but it has been the opposite,

the deeper I go,

the lighter I feel.

You see,

you took a world I new,

and showed me that there is more,

that there truly is more than 90% of my life that has been undiscovered,

but discovering it won’t be so scary,

because you will always be there for me,

discovering it with me,

and learning about the world,

one ray of light at a time,

one “we’ll see at a time”.

Leave a Reply

